For your convenience, we have compiled a list of the most frequently asked questions from the Licensing Staff in Consumer Affairs. We hope these questions and answers will help you. If not, please contact us so we may assist you further.
Yes. If the company is currently licensed and in good standing with the Division of Consumer Affairs.
The Vehicle for Hire License expires on April 30th of each year. Renewal applications are generally sent out to currently license companies in the middle of January. Please call our office after January 15, 2014 at (561)712-6600 for additional information.
The renewal applications are sent out in the middle of January. If you have moved or changed your address, please notify our office in wiriting, via email or fax before that tiem. This was the staf can ensure the application is sent to the proper address.
All completed, signed applications and supporting documentation must be submitted by March 7, 2014. Incomplete applications will not be accepted by the Division of Consumer Affairs staff.
No. The business will be considered a new business and all applicable fees will apply.
That inspection dates and time will be posted on our website.
No. The Certificate of Insurance must be emailed or Faxed directly to the Division of Consumer Affairs by the insurance agent or broker.
No. The decals are non-transferrable. Decals are to be returned to the Division of Consumer Affairs if the vehicle is taken out of service or removed from your insurance policy.
Yes vehicle less than 1 year old (2014 or 2015) are required to have ans ASE inspections.
Yes vehicle more that 7 years, based on registration or with more than 350,00 miles are required to have bi-annual.
Any vehicle used by a licensed company as a vehicle for hire is required to have the proper levels of commerical insurance continously. Failure to have this insurance in plance cna result in the license for the company being suspended and/or revoked.
You must submit an application packet to the Division of Consumer Affairs which consists of the following
You may pick up the packet at our office however the all of the applications are available on our website. They can be found at http://www.pbcgov.com/publicsafety/consumeraffairs/forhire/applications.htm.
Only Visa, MasterCard, Discover Card, Money Order and personal check are accepted. Cash is NOT accepted.
You must have obtained a current Florida Driver License within 3 years or more of the date you are applying.
You may obtain it from any Department of Motor Vehicles office or from any Clerk of Court Office. It must be a Lifetime Driving History.
If you have not had a Florida Driver License for at least 3 years, then you must obtain your Lifetime Driving History from the state in which you resided prior to moving to Florida. Your out of state lifetime driving history must go back at least 5 years from the date you are applying.
Then you, the applicant, must sign a sworn, notarized Vehicle For Hire Driver Affidavit Form attesting to the following: "If a person has not driven for 3 years in the United States, he/she must obtain the driving record from any other jurisdictions where he/she did drive or if he/she is unable to obtain the driving record, must sign an affidavit under penalty of perjury that he/she has no driving record which would prevent him/her from driving a vehicle in the country".
No. Partial application packets cannot be accepted due to the volume of applications submitted.
Applications are accepted Monday through Friday, from 8:00am-4:00pm excluding holidays.
No. It is up to the applicant to identify and apply at a for-hire transportation company for which they want to work, and to have that company complete and notarize the For-Hire Transportation Company Endorsement.
You may work for more than one (1) for-hire transportation company at any given time. However, you must provide a completed and notarized For-Hire Transportation Company Endorsement for each company for which you will be working to the Division of Consumer Affairs.
Yes. A basic English and Geography Test is required for all new applicants and or those renewal applicants whose badge has been expired for one (1) year or more.
When you submit your completed application packet and payment, you will be scheduled for a specific date and time to take the test. Also at the time of application, your photo will be taken for the Vehicle for Hire Driver ID Badge.
You should call to re-schedule your test appointment.
No. Testing is done in groups and is scheduled usually 6 to 7 days from the date you submit your application. That 6 to 7 day time period allows staff to obtain your criminal background check from the Florida Department of Law Enforcement, and time for a Consumer Affairs Compliance Ofice to review your entire file for either approval or denial. An information sheet is provided to you at the time you submit your application and have your photo taken. The information sheet can also be found on our website at
If you fail the English and Geography Test, you have a second opportunity to pass the test. The date of your retest is usually set several days away so that you have more time to study the information sheet.
In the majority of cases, the Badge is ready upon passing the English and Geography Test.
50 South Military TrailSuite 201 West Palm Beach, FL 33415West Palm Beach Area: Phone: 561-712-6600Boca/ Delray/ Glades: Toll Free 888-852-7362Fax: 561-712-6610