

9101 Bonita Beach Road Bonita Springs, FL 34135 Tel: (239) 949-6262 Fax: (239) 949-6239 www.cityofbonitasprings.org

March 24, 2021

Rick Steinmeyer Mayor

Amy Quaremba Council Member District One

Jesse Purdon Council Member District Two

Laura Carr Council Member District Three

Chris Corrie Council Member District Four

Michael Gibson Council Member District Five

Fred Forbes, AIA Council Member District Six

Arleen M. Hunter City Manager (239) 949-6267

City Attorney (239) 949-6254

> City Clerk (239) 949-6248

> Public Works (239) 949-6246

Neighborhood Services (239) 949-6257

> Parks & Recreation (239) 992-2556

Community Development (239) 444-6150 Colonel Andrew Kelly, District Commander United States Army Corp of Engineers, Jacksonville District 701 Marco Boulevard Jacksonville, Florida 332207

RE: LOSOM Update

The Honorable Colonel Kelly,

The City of Bonita Springs would like to thank you for this opportunity to submit input regarding the new Lake Okeechobee System Operating Manual (LOSOM). On March 24, 2021, the City of Bonita Springs City Council unanimously voted to support Lee County, the Cities of Cape Coral, Estero, Fort Myers, Fort Myers Beach, and Sanibel, who all signed the joint letter dated March 19, 2021, expressing our unified concerns about the management of the water levels of Lake Okeechobee and the potential impacts upon our communities as we approach the rainy season.

We understand that the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers is analyzing the complex and delicate issue of balancing the flows affecting the Caloosahatchee, which is an effort that the City of Bonita Springs strongly supports and appreciates. We look forward to participating in the LOSOM process together in order to develop a balanced solution for all stakeholders.

Please consider the City of Bonita Springs as a signatory on the attached letter to you dated March 19, 2021.

Respectfully,

Mayor Rick Steinmeyer

ce: Mayor and City Council

Kevin Ruane, Chairman, Lee County Commission

John Gunter, Mayor, City of Cape Coral Katy Errington, Mayor, Village of Estero Kevin Anderson, Mayor, City of Fort Myers Ray Murphy, Mayor, Town of Fort Myers Beach

Holly Smith, Mayor, City of Sanibel