MINUTES

MONDAY, MARCH 14, 2016

PALM BEACH COUNTY CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMISSION
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
McEaddy Conference Room
12th Floor, 301 N. Olive Avenue
West Palm Beach, Florida 33401

Members Present:

Rosalyn Baker
Jeffrey Colbath
Douglas Duncan
George Elmore
Randolph Johnson, Sr.
William Kramer, Ex-Officio, Immediate Past Chair
Barry Krischer
Bryan Kummerlen
Christina Morrison
Gerald Richman
Priscilla Taylor
Lee Waring

Members Absent:

Dave Aronberg
Barbara Cheives
Carey Haughwout
Robert Avossa, Ex-Offico

Guests Attending:

Ted Gonzalez, Director, LEX Program
Stephen Johns, DEA
Amy Karpf, OFMB
Frank Kitzerow, Jupiter Chief of Police
Eliot Kleinberg, Palm Beach Post
Jennifer Loyless, Public Defender's Office
Sylvia Moffett, City of West Palm Beach Commission
Debra Oats, Court Administration
Louis Tomeo, Clerk & Comptroller's Office
Lynn Trimble, Choice to Change

Staff Present:

Arlene Griffiths, Senior Criminal Justice Analyst, Public Safety Katherine Hatos, Senior Criminal Justice Analyst Shahzia Jackson, Senior Criminal Justice Analyst, Public Safety Danny Kreshak, Financial Analyst II Damir Kukec, Research & Planning Manager Rosalind Murray, Criminal Justice Programs Allison Orr, Administrative Assistant Craig Spatara, Program Manager, Public Safety Pamela Williams, Temporary Staff

- I. Chairman Lee Waring called the meeting to order at approximately 8:05 a.m.
- II. Roll Call was taken and a quorum was present.
- III. Chairman Lee Waring welcomed members and invited guests to introduce themselves.
- IV. The agenda was unanimously approved, motion by Judge Jeffrey Colbath, second by Ms. Rosalyn Baker. The minutes of the February 8, 2016 meeting were unanimously approved, motion by Judge Jeffrey Colbath, second by Mr. Randy Johnson.
- V. Chairman's Comments: None
- VI. **Executive Director's Comments:** In the absence of the Executive Director, Chair Waring updated the members on the following topics:
 - 1. Criminal Justice Analyst position: Interviews will commence next week, to staff the Behavioral Health Task Force (BHTF).
 - 2. Letter of Support for SEBHN grant: Chair Waring asked for clarification, CJC staff member Allison Orr and Ms. Jennifer Loyless of the Public Defender's Office updated the members that a grant had been applied for to partly fund one aspect of the BHTF's strategic plan to assess county wide needs. The support letter was signed off by Co-Chairs Carey Haughwout and Dave Aronberg. Chair Waring asked for a motion to approve, motion made by Judge Jeffrey Colbath, second by Mr. Barry Krischer, motion passed unanimously.
 - 3. Legislative Funding for Reentry Chair Waring asked for an update; Ms. Jennifer Loyless briefly explained the State Legislature had earmarked \$500,000.00 for the Sago Palm Restore Program. Judge Colbath remarked on the recent tour he attended, and remarked on the effectiveness of the program and recommended the tour.

VII. Old Business – Regular Item(s):

- **A. Nominating Committee:** The nominating committee will be screening several groups and reviewing criteria with the County Administrator to select a member to the clergy seat created by the Ordinance revision.
- **B. CJC Meeting Time:** Chair Waring deferred topic to next full CJC meeting. Mr. Gerald Richman is in favor of moving the time to 12:00 noon, in hopes that the federal representatives can attend more meetings.
- **C. CJC Annual Planning Meeting:** Chair Waring thanked those present for the good participation, and the positive results of the groups that worked together. Chair Waring clarified there will be no de-funding of programs, but a major new priority is the establishment of the Community Engagement Task Force which will be chaired by Chief Frank Kitzerow and Ms. Barbara Cheives.

Member Comments: Chief Bryan Kummerlen asked if this is a new task force and what would be the criteria to serve on it. Chair Waring said members would be asked to serve, along with anyone else who would have an interest in serving to let staff know. Mr. Gerald Richman asked about the timeline in establishing the task force, Chair Waring said the BHTF will be moving forward with the addition of a staff member, Reenty Task Force will continue and work already in progress for foundations of Community Engagement Task Force (CETF).

VIII. New Business - none

IX. CJC Initiatives -

- **1. Law Enforcement Planning Council:** Chair Waring asked Chief Kummerlen for an update on the LEPC. Chief Kummerlen gave a brief mention on some topics covered in the meetings, such as SmartWater technology, and cybercrime threat training.
- **2. Court Systems Task Force**: Chair Waring asked Chief Judge Colbath to update members; he responded there were no new initiatives at this time.
- **3. Reentry Task Force**: Finding ex-offenders jobs. Ms. Rosalyn Baker added that at the Sago Palm Reentry a new DOC employment specialist has been placed to help people on probation

learn computer skills, and is working with the city library system to assist. They are focusing on promoting awareness in the public as to the positive benefits of hiring ex-offenders.

Member Comments: Mr. William Kramer commented on the status of the Batterer's Intervention Program funding. A year ago funds had not been available within the Domestic Violence Trust Fund (DVTF) due to state law restrictions, and consultation with Rep. Dave Kerner had been made previously toward loosening restrictions on DVTF. Chair Waring said that issue would be addressed. Chair Waring asked Chief Kitzerow if he had met with co-chair Barbara Cheives, Chief Kitzerow responded he had not spoken directly with Ms. Cheives yet, was advised by Ms. Kristina Henson to hold off until some organizational issues and been addressed.

Judge Jeffrey Colbath added court funding lost money in the state budget process closing out the current legislative session.

X. **Adjourn**: With no further discussions, Chairman Waring moved to adjourn, unanimously moved, meeting adjourned at approximately 8: 45 a.m.